Directorate & Superintendent


Dr Betty Chan, Director & School Supervisor

Dr Betty Chan is Director and School Supervisor of Yew Chung schools, including Secondary, Primary and Early Childhood Education (ECE) Sections. Graduated from University of Hawaii with B.Ed. and M.Ed, Dr Chan specialised in early childhood education. She was awarded AAUW Scholarship and started the doctoral programme at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign under the mentorship of Prof. Bernard Spodek. While completing the required coursework, she had to return to Hong Kong to take up her responsibilities at Yew Chung.

Mr Norm Dean, Deputy Director

Mr Norm Dean joined the Yew Chung Education Foundation (YCEF) as Deputy Director in August 2014. He holds a Master degree of Education in School Leadership from Monash University and a Graduate Diploma in Educational Administration from Melbourne University.

Ms Winnie Cheng, Deputy Director

Ms Cheng is Deputy Director of the Yew Chung Education Foundation and oversees student admissions, school debenture, parent education, parent relations, community relations, supporting services, and information technology. 

Dr Lydia Chan, Assistant Director & Assistant School Supervisor

Dr Lydia Chan joined the Yew Chung Education Foundation (YCEF) in 2011. She currently supports the Director in supervising all YCIS schools. She also serves as a member of the College Governing Council, and Vice-Chair of the College Executive Board at Yew Chung Community College (YCCC). 


Mrs Shirley Mead

Mrs Shirley Mead (Dip. T. – Primary, B. Ed.) joined Yew Chung as the Hong Kong Primary Co-Principal in December 1997. She was appointed as one of the Superintendents for the Yew Chung Education Foundation in August 2004 and has worked with various schools within the Foundation since that time.


Please fill in below fields and click "Subscribe".